Introducing Tabs

Tabs.png
 
 

Non-creepy, Privacy Focussed location sharing...

Your iPhone has been able to track and share your location since it added GPS with the iPhone 3G.  But, if you're like most people, the idea seems kind of creepy, and concerning.

Does anyone in your life really need to know exactly where you are at any time?  Do you trust your significant other so little that you need to know where they're eating lunch?  Would you have wanted your parents to know exactly where you are all the time?

No, of course not...  but sometimes, you want to know that your spouse hasn't left work yet, or that your kid made it to school, or you want your mom to know that you got home OK.

But... you don't want to grant some megacorp access to your location, you don't want your GPS coordinates and contact info sitting on a database just waiting to be hacked.

Tabs was made with all of these factors in mind.

Tabs lets you define a handful of places where your location can be tracked.  You name them yourself, something like "home" or "gym" or even just a single emoji like "🏠" or "🏢".  The physical location of these places is never sent anywhere.  It exists only on your phone.

You can request to see someone else's location or you can invite someone to see your location.  This is done via email or iMessage, without you needing to create yet another account or give ANY personal information to us.

When the person accepts the invitation or the request, the list of locations (again, not the locations themselves, that's never sent anywhere), is encrypted with the recipients public key so that only they can decrypt it.

If you're at one of your defined locations, that will be shared.  If you're not, Tabs will simply say you're "out".

You can allow people to set up alerts when you reach one of your locations, but the sharer is in control of this.  If it feels like too much of an imposition, you can disable it, either globally, or per person following you.

Your name or locations are never sent anywhere without being encrypted first.  Everything is encrypted using strong public/private key encryption.  The only person who can decrypt the message is the intended recipient.  The private keys are held in the recipients' phone's Keychain, which is only accessible when the device has been unlocked.

It's totally secure.  I (the developer) can't read these updates.  Apple can't read these updates. They're encrypted on your device with the recipients' public key before they're sent. If you lose/destroy your phone, there's no way to recover it.  There's no backdoor.

If something changes and this industry standard strong encryption somehow was compromised... and our server was hacked and the database downloaded, the only information that could be gleaned would be your list of named places and the one you were at most recently.  It would not contain any of your coordinates, or any information about you.  No email address, no phone number, nothing!